Brisbane Goannas
AWIHL Australian Womens Ice Hockey League

The League

The League

The Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League (AWIHL) runs from October to March annually. The semi-professional league became official in 2007 following the showcase series that commenced in 2005. There are currently 4 teams in the competition; Adelaide Assassins, Brisbane Goannas, Melbourne Ice and Newcastle Sirens North Stars. It is anticipated that the league will grow to 5 or 6 teams in the future. There is also a possibility that New Zealand may join the league in the upcoming years.

Players around Australia are given a chance to represent their local team in the AWIHL. Players residing in states with no local team are still given a chance to play for a team of their choice, maintaining the highest possible level of players in the country.

Each team is allowed a maximum of 3 imports to play in any one game. See the playing for the goannas section for more information on imports. Each game is 3 x 17 minute stop-time periods.

From 2010/11 Finals onwards the Joan McKowen Memorial Trophy will be presented to the AWIHL Championship team. For more information about the History of the Joan McKowen Memorial Trophy please visit our History page.

For more information on the AWIHL and its competing teams visit To view up-to-date standing and statistics on each player and team visit and search for AWIHL.

Brisbane Goannas Login

Search the syte!

Get Help

Get Help What is XSYTE? How do I use this? How do I file a bug report? All your questions answered at XSYTE Development Board We are always improving XSYTE. See what's next and vote for the features you want to see to speed implementation!